Recipe: Decadent Gelato & Hot Fudge

Today, it felt like summer had arrived!  I’m already dreaming of hot days at the beach and lots of time outside.  I’m using that as my excuse to hit the frozen section at the grocery store to stock up on ice cream.  My cart yesterday was brimming with six different pints to try.

Yesterday I found not only ice cream, but gelato.  You will never look at frozen treats the same way after you give this a try.  We ate lots of gelato on our honeymoon in Italy, but I had forgotten how delicious it is!

gelato

If you have not tried Talenti Gelato (and no, I am not a paid spokeswoman, although I should be!), run, do not walk, to the nearest grocery store to buy some.  The best was the Sea Salt Caramel, and the Mediterranean Mint was fabulous too.  I also love nice packaging, and theirs looks good enough to put several pints out on your table for a dinner party, which is exactly what I did.  People could not believe I had purchased this at my local Market Basket for around $5 a pint.

Want to take it one step further down the path of decadence?  Whip up some hot fudge sauce.  This recipe is so easy and delicious and makes a lot.

Put some in a jar and give it to a friend or even freeze it.

Here is what you will need:

14 ounce can of sweetened condensed milk

12 ounces of chocolate chips.  Use good chocolate.  I like Ghirardelli, as you know!

2/3-3/4 cup of water.  Start with 2/3.  Add a bit more if it seems too thick for you.

1/2 tsp. salt.  I always cook with kosher salt, but use what you have.

Mix all of this together in a sturdy pan…

sauceinpan

Stir it over low heat until well-mixed and smooth.  Remove from burner and stir in 1 TBSP. of vanilla.

finishedsauce

Here’s to a fabulous summer, and lots of gelato!

Buon Appetito!

xo,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

