DIY: Cleaning Muffin Tins

I’ll admit it:  I ALWAYS leave the muffin tin overnight.  “It’s a soaker,” I say in a resigned voice, before heading up to bed.  The next morning, I come down, hoping that the crumbs have come loose like they always seem to effortlessly do in the Dawn commercials.  Sadly, it never happens this way.  Usually about half of the residue is left behind.  So, I soak it again, and scrub some more, and wait again.  This goes on for a few tries until I either settle for it being 80% clean, or I’ve scrubbed nonstop for what seems like forever.

You would not think it would take me 42 years to figure out that there is a much simpler way to deal with this, and maybe you all are way ahead of me.  When I make muffins like this, I am often left with a real mess.

Today I tried baking powder and I don’t think I will ever go back to store-bought dish soap when dealing with tins.  I mixed about 1/2 cup with a couple of splashes of very hot water.  I gently scrubbed, and it worked very well.

I also just read that as soon as you take your muffins out of the pan, another option is to immediately fill them with water and stick back in the hot oven for 10-15 minutes.  I haven’t tried that yet, but I will soon.

Finally, a clean muffin pan.  It’s the little things, people!

muffin2

xo,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

