DIY: Handmade Ceramic Coasters

I hope you enjoyed the long weekend and ate your fill of turkey and pie!  We relaxed together, traveled down to Newport for an overnight, and got some projects done.  I’m happy to report we sailed smoothly through putting up two Christmas trees, our outside lights, and our wreaths yesterday.  It’s beginning to look like Christmas!  I even made last night’s Shutterfly deadline and ordered my holiday cards for 30% off.  While I am certain this level of organization won’t last, it’s been a productive few days.

I’m also happy to report that I made several sets of handmade coasters this weekend.  I’m excited to give them to some family members for Christmas.  These would also make great hostess gifts.  You could also buy bigger tiles and make trivets for the chefs in your life.

I picked up some white 4.25 x 4.25 inch ceramic tiles from Home Depot (just .16/each!), and a giant pad of colorful scrapbook paper from Michael’s.  I already had Modge Podge on hand, but Michael’s has it if you need some.   I’ve also made a bunch of these using photos for Christmas presents, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise by showing them here.

COASTERS2

Here is what you will need:

+A good pair of scissors

+A ruler

+A pencil

+A medium-sized paint brush

+Several ceramic tiles measuring 4.25 x 4.25 inches

+Decorative paper of some kind

+Modge Podge

+Clear spray polyurethane

+White felt (for the backs)

Here’s what you need to do:

+Start by wiping the tiles to remove any dirt or dust.

+Select the paper you want to use.

+Using your pencil and ruler, measure out squares of paper to go on top of the coaster.  I recommend making the squares a bit smaller than the coaster.  So in this case, the tile measured 4.25 x 4.25 inches and I cut my paper squares to be 4 x 4 inches.

+Spread a thin layer of Modge Podge onto the tile.  Carefully line up your paper square evenly and press gently into place on the tile.  Let dry 20-30 minutes.  A thin layer is key to your success.  I learned the hard way that the paper will bubble up and wrinkle if there is too much Modge Podge on the tile. Also, don’t try to lift up your paper if it’s not lined up totally even because it will rip.

+Next, brush a thin layer of Modge Podge over the top of the paper square and let dry 20-30 minutes.  Do not worry if you haven’t worked with Modge Podge, it dries clear!  Repeat once or twice more.

+In order to use these for drinks, you will want to protect them from water.  In a well ventilated area (I used my garage), gently spray a coat of clear polyurethane spray over them.  lf it’s new it should be fine, but if it’s one you’ve had around the house, be sure to test it as sometimes polyurethane can yellow over time.  Repeat after they are sufficiently dry according to directions.

+The last step is to apply felt to be sure these won’t scratch up your counters and tables.  Measure and cut white felt squares the same dimensions as your tiles to glue onto the back.  I’ll just use the Modge Podge again, but any craft glue would be fine.  I bought the felt at Joann Fabrics.

COASTERS1

Enjoy!

xo,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

